Resuscitating a Blog…

I originally started this blog in 2007 when I was looking for an alternative to the blog host I was using. It turned out that I wasn’t going to be able to import posts from my original blog and so this one has been sitting here as my primary WordPress.com blog sit that time, just waiting for a reason to be resurrected even on a temporary basis.

I say temporary because I’ve pretty much abandoned blogging. I was an avid blogger back in 2004 and kept it up faithfully for several years. Then I discovered Twitter (follow me at @sjbrooksyoung) and Facebook Pages and it didn’t take long for me to abandon the education blog I was writing.

I do still co-author a blog on ferry issues in the San Juan Islands in Washington. Click here to take a peek. But this blog targets a very specific group and a very specific topic and actually has nothing at all to do with professional things. For the most part, the people I follow who follow me have migrated to Twitter and Facebook.

So, what am I learning in LEC so far? I’m gaining great empathy for adults who struggle with online learning. It’s not that the work is difficult, but as set up, the time requirements are staggering. I have not been as understanding toward other participants in the past as I could have been. I think the activities are really good, but I believe there has to be a way to present them that seems less daunting. I’m not sure what that would look like, but intend to think about it and try to figure it out!

Tags:

Leave a comment